{Sink or Swim}

So far, this semester has been an overwhelming amount of STUFF. By the word stuff, I mean homework, quizzes, exams, practices, meetings, conferences, decisions, dancing, making friends, finding my place, trying to make money, have a social life, make the Dean’s List, and still somehow have TIME to even sleep. As stressful as all of this sounds, which it 100% is, I have loved every second of it.

My time here at CMU this fall has introduced me to so many new opportunities in which my heart is overwhelmingly warm and full because of. From being accepted into the Leadership Advancement Scholarship, I have had so many open doors so far including events and conferences such as Leadership Safari, Spark Leadership, Special Olympics Leadership Launch, Leadership Connections Conference, and countless amounts of community service opportunities. From making Central Michigan University’s dance team, I have had the opportunity to dance on the sidelines at every home football and basketball games, perform at events like the Homecoming pep-assembly, get a bid to the Dance Team Union College Classic National Championship in Las Vegas, and above all make my dreams of being on a college dance team finally come true. However, how do I manage to do all of this on top of school work you ask? Well, let me tell you, it is NOT as easy as it looks, folks.

In high school, I never truly succeeded to my fullest potential and I didn’t discover this fact until the middle of my junior year where it was practically too late to move my GPA a significant amount enough to meet my aspirations. Therefore, when I got to college I was more than motivated to start fresh, and to (hopefully) make the Dean’s List here at Central Michigan University. I have done so by taking time each and every day to work on studying a bit for each class briefly, then going back and focusing especially on courses that I may be struggling with. Particularly, I have always struggled in subjects relating to math or science, and so I therefore typically spend most of my days really trying to understand these subjects.

As someone with ADHD, it takes a lot more time and energy to succeed academically as opposed to someone without a mental disability. This is something that I have dealt with my whole life, and is something that I have finally taken pride of. Now that being said, I may not always have the opportunities other students may have like being able to have a little more down time, or being able to have more opportunities for extra curricular activities in addition to involvements they are in now. Personally, my ADHD has been a huge contributing factor as to my debate between rushing or not next year to be involved with a sorority. But that is besides the point. Overall, having a mental disability in college is obviously quite difficult and can get mentally and emotionally draining at times, but with the right motivation anything is possible.

Overall, college is essentially what you make of it. Maybe going away from home to a university isn’t for you, that’s okay. Maybe you would rather have a job than be involved on campus, that’s okay too. The possibilities after high school are endless so make sure you are doing what you are for reasons only to make YOU happy, and no one else. Involve yourself in things that are up your alley but don’t be afraid to try new things. Discover your passions and run after them until you catch your dreams, even if you get tired along the way. College is absolutely up to you and what you make of it, and it is up to YOU weather you will sink or swim.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Jill says:

    So proud of you honey, stay focused & take care of yourself. XXXOOO

    Like

Leave a Reply

