{Discovering Your “Why”}

In Simon Sinek’s TED talk that we watched in my leadership class last week, he discusses the topic of the Apple company taking such lead in their field over other companies. He talks about how they do this through using a “Why” statement. This Why statement is something that has lead Apple to become one of the largest technological companies in the world. This Why statement got Apple to this spot because of the steps involved in creating, and pursuing such a statement. That being said, a Why statement is essentially a goal that reflects your passions and has potential to be pursued. Image result for speak for the silent stand for the broken mike smith

After watching the TED talk video, my leadership class and I got together with a partner that we did not know very well and got pretty deep with them. Our partners discussed our passions, values, role models, disappointments in the world, why we think we exist, what we do in our free time, and why we get up in the morning. After discussing both of these partners points of views we basically told our partners things about themselves that they might not have recognized or emphasized before in their lives. We got the opportunity to give them a hint on what their Why statements should revolve around.

My partner essentially discussed with me that I am a very passionate person when it comes to helping others and that this is something that is always plausible and attainable. After hearing what my partner had to say, I decided on my Why statement. My Why statement is actually a quote that I have always kept in the back of my mind since the day it presented itself to me. The first time I was able to see Mike Smith perform live, a quote that really stood out to me personally was “Speak for the silent, stand for the broken.” This is my Why statement.

I think that my Why statement reflects a large aspect of helping others. I believe that “speak for the silent, stand for the broken,” is a great reminder of this idea. I think that since it appeared in my mind the moment my partner said that my Why statement should do with helping others, this especially suits my passions and intentions. I think that having a Why statement is really important to keep a constant reminder of your passions and putting those passions to action daily.

I think that Why statements are a very interesting and deep way to discover your personal passions and find that nitch that you have for things in this world and really strive to succeed those goals that you will set through that Why statement. I believe that there is something for everyone. I believe that by completing this activity it allows each person to really find that something for them and run with it. So after reading this article, I want YOU to ask yourself… why?

Leave a Reply

