{Pen Pal!}

This year I have made many New Years resolutions including staying in touch with my family even though I don’t get to see them as much anymore now that I am at school. It is so hard to be away from family in college for so long, especially since my entire family lives in Ohio. The only times I have gotten to spend some time with them has been over holidays which are always overwhelming with long nights in the kitchen and visiting with our huge families in a matter of hours! That being said, I have made it a goal of mine to send one letter each month to my Nana (my mom’s mom), and my Grandma (my dad’s mom) telling them about the events I did that month and some of my thoughts and decisions that I had made that month. I have already written my January letter to them and they absolutely loved the idea! From now on I want to try to include some printed copies of pictures and other digital evidence of my experiences and passions that month. I am so excited to share my life with my family in ways that I usually don’t and be able to keep in touch with them in ways that I am unable to physically due to our distance. It is so hard to individually have my family keep up with my busy life so I feel as though it almost makes up for the time spent away from my family to keep them in the loop! I plan on continuing to do this each month of the year for the next few years I am at college and maybe even after I graduate.

It is hard especially with my grandparents to try to keep in touch with them because they live so far away and it is quite the trip from Mount Pleasant to go and visit them. However, I feel as though if I continue sending these letters, it is something that they will have forever. Recently my Great Grandma has been forgetting memories and events from her past and it is truly heartbreaking to know that she genuinely cannot remember our names sometimes. I feel as though if they are to keep these letters and have these pictures of me throughout my life it will be easier and more fun to try to keep them updated on my life and attempt to have them know more about myself. Maybe some day if either of them begin losing memories of their past and important information about their families, they will look back at these letters and pictures and remember me.

https://img.clipartfest.com/391c2330d51c4cbb9b8dc555aee323ae_mailbox-clip-art-image-free-mailbox-clipart_1056-816.jpeg

Overall, I think that having pen pals are a great way to keep in touch with those you love who are far away even when you don’t see each other all the time. It is important to keep in touch with your friends and family and I really wanted to advocate that this year in some which way shape or form. Pen paling with my Nana and Grandma can really do that for me this year, and for many years to come. I hope that this blog inspired you to do something to show your loved ones that you care about them and let the know that you miss them. I hope that my Nana and my Grandma will write back to me so that I have something from them to keep my whole life too. Something that I will keep forever!

Leave a Reply

