{Letter To Lauryn}

Dear Lauryn,

Hi love! If you are reading this it means that you have just discovered who I am and that I am your mentor for LAS! I am so excited to get to know you and spend more time with you come fall semester and I wish nothing but the best of luck to you as you wrap up your high school career back in your hometown.

Recently, my cohort and I have discussed in depth what we believe it means to be a mentor. After many weeks of analyzing and truly getting into the spirit of things, I thought that I would share with you what I think it means to be a mentor, what I hope I can do for you, and the importance of mentees/mentors in LAS:

  1. A mentor should always be available. No matter how similar or different the two of them are in personalities or opinions, a mentor should always allow themselves to listen and try to the best of their abilities to help them succeed.
  2. To be a mentor and to have a mentee are two different things. Being a mentor is being reliable for all 50 mentees, not just one. And when I use the term “reliable,” I don’t mean a mentor is to be a parent to them, but to simply be their friend who they look up to.
  3. I hope that while being your mentor, I am able to not only be here for you to talk to, help you with four year plans, be able to give advice to you, and shower you with gifts and love, but ALSO be your friend! I am so excited to hang out with you, help you decorate your room, show you around campus, get food at the caf together, have you over my apartment, cook you meals, watch movies, or go on adventures together! I can’t wait to go on our mentee/mentor retreat where we can go canoeing and rock climbing and campfire-ing (lol), and just get to bond with you. I can’t wait to watch you experience college and them new environments you’ll be in. I hope to be the person that isn’t just a mentor to you, but someone you can lean on as a bud! I am so anxious for all of our experiences together.
  4. In my opinion, I think that the idea of mentees and mentors isn’t just a good one, but a great one. Having a cohort in itself opens so many doors going into college that you don’t even realize until you get there and you’re all moved in. Having a mentor this year has personally been a wonderful experience that has been so much more beneficial than I ever imagined. Having not only but a G-Mentor, and a GG has been so convenient and helpful t my college experience. The incoming freshmen each year not only are adjusting a new campus life and way of living, but also classes that no one else on campus takes, and experiences that no one else on campus is offered. Having mentors to these freshmen creates a convenience to these situations as well.

Overall, I am so excited to announce you as my mentee and to be your mentor!!! I hope that you will utilize me as your resource and know that you are always welcome to utilize the other mentors as well. I can’t wait to see you soon. Fire up Chips!!

P.S. for those of you that don’t know, revealing to your mentee of your identity is always a HUGE deal for mentors. Every year, mentors come up with more and more creative ways than the last to tell their mentee who they are and how excited they are to call them their mentor! As fun as this was, I decided to use one of Lauryn’s favorite T.V. shows, Spongebob Squarepants, to make a video out of and post it to her on YouTube! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IqcVI0iFgvI In addition, I also sent her a little package in the mail with some gifts to help her fire up. So excited to be your mentor, Gib! IMG_4504

Leave a Reply

