Director of Public Relations 2019

This year, I have had the opportunity to take on the role of Director of Public Relations for my sorority, Zeta Tau Alpha. As this is my second position in the chapter, it is so humbling to be able to apply my skills from what I learn in school to something I care about so deeply. Being an Integrated Public Relations major, I am constantly embracing new and exciting topics like journalism, communications and broadcasting. While being on this journey of undergraduate school, I have learned so much from graphic design, social media management and engagement, associated press style of writing, and overall becoming a better communicator both in high-level digital communication, as well as verbally/publicly.

As Director of Public Relations, I utilize my abilities to create and manage campaigns and advertisements for different events going in my chapter, both philanthropically and relating to our sisterhood, in addition to compiling and producing videos to showcase for our chapter during recruitment this year. Throughout the spring semester I was able to create various advertisements for our Crown Classic 5k, in addition to making a promotional video. This event raised over $7,000 for our philanthropy, breast cancer education & awareness, and I can humbly say that this couldn’t have been possible without the help of promoting the event itself. During the event, I was able to film throughout the day to capture incredibly moving moments for our philanthropy video in the fall, which I have been working on editing this summer as well.

This summer I have also spent countless hours planning sisterhood events for girls to go to and catch up, have fun, and allow me to film them while they do so for our sisterhood video. These videos are essentially what allows potential new members during recruitment get an inside scoop as to what it is like being a sister of our chapter, and it has also been a ton of fun. Although I have been stressing a lot over what music to use, what footage I will edit, and what the next event will be to plan, it has been such an exciting time for me to have this responsibility that is so important and, again, so fun at the same time!

This fall I will be managing our promotional advertising for our philanthropic Think Pink Week 2019. It will be really awesome to be able to capture these moments, as I have previously been Think Pink Week Chairman. This time I will be on the flip side – showcasing to everyone else all of the incredible work the new co-chairs have to raise money for such a good cause. I will also be making different graphic advertisements for these ladies as well, in addition to filming, compiling, and producing a video that recaps our chapter’s bid day.

Overall, it may not seem like I have that many tasks at hand while being in this position. However, the amount of time and effort and passion that I have put in and will continue to put in to make these promotions as impactful and genuine as possible is something that I would never turn down for a second. I am so thankful and so happy in the position that I am in for my chapter and I cannot wait to see where it takes me come fall semester. Zeta is my home, and I can’t wait to make other girls feel as though it is theirs with me during recruitment this year.

Leave a comment

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑